Best of African Capital Markets: 2009 Africa investor Index Series Awards Winners

(based on April 2008-April 2009):

Most innovative African Stock Exchange
Johannesburg Stock Exchange (JSE) (winner)
The Egyptian Stock Exchange (EGX) (1st runner-up)
Stock Exchange of Mauritius (SME) (2nd runner-up)
Casablanca Stock Exchange (CSE) (2nd runner-up)

Best African Investment Bank
Standard Bank South Africa (winner)
ABSA Capital – South Africa (1st runner-up)
Banco Africano de Investimentos (BAI) – Angola (2nd runner-up)

Best African Research Team
Standard Bank – South Africa (winner)
Renaissance Capital – United Kingdom (1st runner-up)
UBA Capital – Europe (2nd runner-up)

Most Innovative Capital Markets Regulator
Capital Market Authority Egypt (winner)
Morocco Capital Market Authority (1st runner-up)
Financial Services Board of SA (2nd runner-up)

Best Performing Broker in Africa
BJM Securities – South Africa (winner)
Auerbach Grayson & Company – NY (1st runner-up)
EFG Hermes – Egypt (2nd runner-up)

Best African Fund Manager
Investec Asset Management – SA (winner)
Coronation Fund Managers – SA (1st runner-up)
EFG Hermes – Egypt (2nd runner-up)

Best African IPO
Co-operative Bank – Kenya (winner)
Poulina Group Holdings (1st runner-up)
UT Financials Services – Ghana (2nd runner-up)

Best Performing Ai 100 Company
Equity Bank – Kenya (winner)
Press Corporation – Malawi (1st runner-up)
Namibian Breweries – Namibia (2nd runner-up)

Best Performing Ai 40 Company
Maroc Telecom – Morocco (winner)
State Bank Mauritius (1st runner-up)
Barclays Bank of Kenya (2nd runner-up)

Most Innovative Ai SRI 50 Company
Bamburi Cement – Kenya (winner)
Guaranty Trust Bank – Nigeria (1st runner-up)
Kenya Airways (2nd runner-up)

Most Innovative SRI 30 Company
MTN Group – South Africa (winner)
Safaricom – Kenya (1st runner-up)
Mauritius Commercial Bank (2nd runner-up)

Ai 100 CEO of the Year
James Mwangi – Equity Bank (winner)
Olutayo Aderinokun – Guaranty Trust Bank (1st runner-up)
Francis Atuche – Bank PHB (2nd runner-up)

Ai 40 CEO of the Year
Jacko Maree – Standard Bank (winner)
Mohamed El Kettani – Attijariwafa Bank (1st runner-up)
Adan Mohamed – Barclays Bank (2nd runner-up)

Ai SRI 50 CEO of the Year
Hussein Manzi – Bamburi Cement (winner)
Olutayo Aderinokun – Guaranty Trust Bank (1st runner-up)
Hassan Kabanni – Mobinil (2nd runner-up)

Ai SRI 30 CEO of the Year
Phuthuma Nhleko – MTN Group (winner)
Mohamed El Kettani – Attijariwafa Bank (1st runner-up)
Naguib Sawaris – Orascom Telecom (2nd runner-up)

Best Performance by an African/South African Hedge Fund
Kadd Capital – SA (winner)
Fairtree Capital – South Africa (1st runner-up)
Scipion Capital – London (2nd runner-up)


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *